AHF Wins LA Blade Awards

On January 28, 2021, Los Angeles Blade (LA Blade) released their Best of LGBTQ LA 2021 list. We are proud to announce that AIDS Healthcare Foundation (AHF) received many wins and honorable mentions throughout various categories. All finalists and winners were selected by LA Blade readers, which makes the wins a powerful example of AHF’s positive impact on the community.

As a true testament to our excellent work, AHF won the Best Doctors/Medical Providers category. The award was granted to AHF “for the consistently excellent work of doctors, physician’s assistants, nurse practitioners, med techs, benefits counselors, and support staff at 14 AHF Healthcare Centers and satellite clinics throughout Southern California.” This is AHF’s second year winning this fantastic award.

Jeffrey King won for the Most Committed LGBTQ Activist category and expressed enormous gratitude for AHF’s support. In a quote from the article, King said, “AHF’s support allowed us to do a lot of programs and interventions and testing in a way that could reach men who are resistant to testing. Funding from AHF, Macy’s Passport, and the Weingart Foundation allowed us to develop programs and grassroots community mobilization efforts that the government would not fund us for. Having that support is of great importance in our community.”

Out of the Closet won in the Best Clothing Store category of the LA Blade Awards, but that’s not all! Out of the Closet also won Best Clothing Store in WEHOville’s Best of WEHO 2020 contest. Those are two impressive wins for Out of the Closet, proving that the local community loves to shop for our cause.

Last but certainly not least, AHF Flux, an affinity group of AHF, received Editor’s Choice in the Best Live Queer-Friendly COVID Programming category. Despite all of the many challenges the COVID-19 pandemic put in our way, we still provided quality inclusive entertainment to raise both spirits and awareness. 

Congratulations to the entire AHF team; you can see the complete list of LA Blade Award Recipients here.